Nothing Much

Graphic courtesy of Marcus at brainlesstales.com

Am clearly on unscheduled hiatus.

Current unopened mail in the YoYo-Dyne Email Inbox: 306. This does not count the 30 or so that have been opened and not answered or viewed.

Love you all. I do not subscribe to random or ‘please add me!’ blogs. Only read those that draw me in. Writers who are savvy, funny, and left of center. You know who you are.

The Demon Seed (aka my brilliant daughter) is visiting for two weeks. The Best.
Life itself, as in day to day, financial, physical, emotional has gone sideways on too many tangents too personal to mention.

Promise to catch up, absorb all of your fabulous words, and find a way out in another week or so.

Miss all of your emotions, tales, vivisections, views and blues. See you soon. In the words of Miss Vega…

If you want me
You can find me
Left of center
Off of the strip

In the outskirts
In the fringes
In the corner
Out of the grip

When they ask me
“What are you looking at?”
I always answer
“Nothing much” (not much)
I think they know that
I’m looking at them
I think they think
I must be out of touch

But I’m only
In the outskirts
And in the fringes
On the edge
And off the avenue
And if you want me
You can find me
Left of center
Wondering about you

I think that somehow
Somewhere inside of us
We must be similar
If not the same
So I continue
To be wanting you
Left of center
Against the grain

If you want me
You can find me
Left of center
Off of the strip
In the outskirts
In the fringes
In the corner
Out of the grip

When they ask me
“What are you looking at?”
I always answer
“Nothing much” (not much)
I think they know that
I’m looking at them
I think they think
I must be out of touch

But I’m only
In the outskirts
And in the fringes
On the edge
And off the avenue
And if you want me
You can find me
Left of center
Wondering about you
Wondering about you

~Miss R

21 thoughts on “Nothing Much

  1. Dammit woman, don’t make me come over there n not whip you butt!

    We all need a break every now and then, such is life, just have fun with Demon Seed n try to, I dunno, chill a bit I guess. We be understanding

    Like

  2. Enjoy the visit, we’ll see you when you get back.
    Glad you’re well – was a wee bit concerned (especially when there were no amusing newspaper articles from Nevada of blindingly awesome chick dealing with those in need of smacking.)
    And glad you’re having fun with Demon Seed!

    Like

    • Thanks you El Guapo. am so glad you’ll still be there, and your posts as well. Dig your writing, as you well know.
      Will inform the papers if any beatings are administered prior to my re-introduction to the real world.

      As if it wouldn’t draw press attention

      Like

    • It’s two two two wicked progeny in one. Thank you Bearman.
      Said Demon Seed is off to San Fran tomorrow and returning home to Reno on Monday.
      Then back to SF and Spring semester next Friday.
      So far the house is a disaster and the Reno college/High School friend contingent has been a flowing tide of ciggie butts, Doc Martins strewn about the floors, each and every dish left where it was last used and the volume up to 11.

      Oh, and my mom -looks around with a frightened eye while shuddering- is driving up to spend two days with us both on Wednesday. I may need that martini much sooner than expected.

      Say, is there any viability in the idea of prophylactic drinking? Thinking I may need to start now to protect myself for next week. Mom, myself and The Demon Seed.
      Would have to physically leave my home though.

      I would have gotten away with it too if it weren’t for those meddling kids! …drinking every last bit of booze in the house.

      Like

  3. I hope you’re having a wonderful time speaking in tongues with the seed, Ms. B! 😉 Seriously, though, have a wonderful break / time with your family!
    P.S. – still wear my Doc’s almost every day (they’re almost 14 years old at this point – now that’s quality)!
    🙂

    Like

  4. Absolutely my favorite song of hers. And I would gladly switch boxes…mine (last time I looked, since I delete the dreck from my BB) was still over 600. Thinking eventually everyone will email me again figuring cyber space ate their mail. Bwahahaha. Sometimes, procrastination truly pays 😉

    Glad you were around whilst I was not. Still wondering if I am actually back or not. PFT. Talk to me soonly,
    Red.

    PS You and DS need to “accidentally” schedule two days at the spa for when MD comes to call. I wonder how long she will stand on the porch calling you before she calls a cab…

    Like

  5. I am so glad that I didn’t catch you on your break, otherwise I would be missing out on all of your creative wickedness here, I like your poem too, but don’t worry I am not creeping, I am actually crawling past the gravestones hoping to catch a new neck to bite on. Well even eccentric Vampires need a bit, I mean a bite now and again you know? 🙂

    Right I will try taking off from this wobbling tombstone next as I always like a challenge of an evening, if only to scare the Zombies into thinking of where their next brain is coming from, mind you they are so thickly skinned that they often fall short of a good meal, and as I am talking utter nonsense I will dash off before someone brings along a straight jacket.

    Have a ghoulishly exciting rest of weekend and watch out for the Ghoul of Plenty as he often tries hugging anyone that is ravishingly interesting, even Werewolves are not safe from his advances and there have been a few Skeletons that have been…

    Well, enough said, have a nice rest of weekend Rachael…

    Androgoth

    Like

    • thank you my dear. Always on Zombie watch. Every day is Halloween to me. Hmmm reminds me of a song 😉

      Have a wonderful time tip-toeing through the tombstones. If you ever get get to Reno you;ll have to visit the Virgina City cemeteries. Some of the best in land.
      Be well.. and don’t forget your stake and zombie protection helmet if you sneak out into the night

      Like

Want Your Palm Red? What's up Doc?